Newbie Survival Guide: PAX Australia

img_0428I recently did a call out on Twitter about the tips and tricks needed for a first timer heading to PAX. With the event less than a week away, I can’t help but feel as though I am under prepared and I have completely underestimated the event all together!

Lucky for me, the kind folks at PAX Australia RT-d me, and I was inundated with tips, tricks and advice from fellow gamers that I have collated to help everyone else as well!

 

1. Wear comfortable clothes and shoes

This was a recurring piece of advice, comfortable clothes and shoes are a must. There’s a lot of walking around, and finding your comfort sweet spot (especially in the shoes department!) is highly recommended.

2. Water, water… WATER!

Another one that came up a lot – bring your own water and keep hydrated. The venue can get quite warm with everyone walking around and so water is a must.A small stack of snacks is recommended also (nuts, jelly beans etc).

3. Take advantage of the AFK room if needed

I love that PAX Australia has a room like this – and I know sometimes when I get a bit overwhelmed or just need a time out, rooms like this are perfect. You can regroup, take a moment and destress. Means that you are collect your thoughts before heading back and having some fun – again!

4. Plan ahead

Use the PAX app (now available at the iTunes Store / Google Play) and plan your day. Gives you the ultimate opportunity to know where you want to go and what you want check out. If you have a one day pass like me – you can cross off all the things you ‘HAVE’ to see.

5. Have fun! 

Play games – makes sure you have fun! Try what you can and play as many games as you can.

A big thank you to all the folks on Twitter that shared their expertise, here is a small sampling of the replies below:

 

 

Leave a Reply

