#FridayFirsts: Criminal #1

imageGiven I am new to the comics universe, I thought it’d be handy to sort through some of the first issues that I pick, what I enjoyed / didn’t enjoy and if I decided to proceed with the series. I’d love to hear what you think too, make sure you hit me up on Twitter – @remotetragic.

I picked up this title at All Star Comics at the Back Issue & Toy Fair event.

I’ve heard excellent things about Ed Brubaker, so I was really keen to pick up a few things to get a small taste of his writing and see what it was all about. Being new, I haven’t heard much about Sean Phillips, but I am really grateful I got to check out this title and become more familiar with his work, which is beautiful!

What’s it about?

Teegs Lawless is on the wrong side of the law, in jail and has a few enemies, on the outside and in the inside. He has a target on his back, and has no means of protection – even from the prison officers. He makes a friend, one friend, the librarian, and here he finds an escape and refuge of sorts.

Criminal switches between present day (with Teegs Lawless) and the comic he is reading himself, Zangar. The thing I found interesting was how the two stories run side by side each other. Mirroring Teegs’ experiences almost through the very old school story telling within the pages of Zangar.

Thoughts

I liked it! I liked that there was this stream of consciousnesses feel to the writing, which really gave the main character an authentic feel. I can understand if the adult nature of the comic (nudity, violence etc) would turn off the reader – however, I didn’t find it distressing or anything and fits the nature of the comic.

There is six more in the series and there is a recommendation from the writers to read the comics in the order that they are published as there is a few story arcs that continue throughout slightly.

I look forward to checking out future issues, especially to see if the flick back of Zangar (or presence of something similar) continues throughout.

Just before I hit publish on this, I found this handy blog, keeping tabs on all the news and going-ons for Criminal. I love this stuff, so please check it out.

daryl2

Do you have any comic recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below or via my Twitter –@remotetragic.

Comic cover image taken by myself
Other images / gifs sourced from Google.

Leave a Reply

