Review: Harry Potter & The Cursed Child

14046003_1155981457806872_6130048339900245996_nI know, I know – this is meant to be a comic blog. However, I am unashamedly a huge Harry Potter fan and I was beyond excited when this arrived in the mail. In fact, I hit pause on all the comics I was reading and immediately dove in.

There’s something about loving a book series so much and getting an opportunity to go on one last adventure. To be able to be with the characters you grew up with, that you feel you know so well, and to see a new chapter of their lives. I still believe that J.K. Rowling is one of the greatest character writers of the present day, so when it was announced that this was coming out, I leaped at the opportunity.

First things first, if you are expecting the same tone, flow-on descriptive language that you have come to expect from the previous Harry Potter novels, than you may be disappointed. This is a play, it’s written and presented in script form. It does take the mystique out a bit, but I found myself imagining the characters on stage and the scenes taking place there, which is actually kind of cool when you think about it.

adult harry potterI love that I was able to picture my favourite characters in a different element, but still behaving in the same way with the same mannerisms that I previously pictured. Their true identities, remained the same. After I adjusted to reading the book as a script, I found following the story and  being in the moment with the characters easy.

I don’t want to spoil the story but going into extreme detail as to what it’s about, but the premise is that it’s set 19 years after the last book. Harry Potter’s children are of age and are attending Hogwarts, along with Ron and Hermione’s children, and Draco Malfoy’s son. Through a series of events and overheard conversations, Albus Potter and Scorpius Malfoy embark on an adventure that rattles the wizarding world in ways that could potentially change that world forever.

I absolutely loved getting to know Albus and Scorpius, seeing the dynamic with their fathers, with each other and how it differed to how their parents went to school. I may have also teared up a bit when there was an appearance from Dumbledore and Snape, I cried so hard when those characters died in the novels, but being able to have that interaction with them was a really nice touch.

It was brilliant to go back and be with the amazing world of Harry Potter again. It wasn’t the same as the book series, and I am okay with that. I think it was fitting with the story centralised around the children that it was different, and I was able to visualise it in a different way. Rest assured, if I lived in the UK I would absolutely love to go to the stage show. Given how on point the script is, I have no doubt the casting is as well.

If you are a fan of Harry Potter, I absolutely recommend the book. What a pleasure it was to go on another adventure.

Always

Book cover image taken by myself
Other images / GIF sourced on Google

2 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter & The Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

