#FridayFirsts: We Stand on Guard #1

IMG_9429Given I am new to the comics universe, I thought it’d be handy to sort through some of the first issues that I pick, what I enjoyed / didn’t enjoy and if I decided to proceed with the series. I’d love to hear what you think too, make sure you hit me up on Twitter – @remotetragic.

I picked up this title at All Star Comics at the Back Issue & Toy Fair event.

Instantly I was attracted to the title because of the writer, Brian K. Vaughan (BKV). It seems so different to what I have read in the past (Review: Y: The Last Man (Book 1)|FCBD Review: Saga & We Can Never Go Home), and it was!

What’s it about?

Canada is at war with the United States and after a blast at home presumably killing the family, young Amber and her older brother, Tommy are left fending for themselves. We fast forward to present day, Amber and Tommy are separated (we learn that Tommy was captured by the Americans) and Amber is searching the Northwest Territories on her own. Here she encounters other Canadians and after some combat, they are approached by heavy American machinery. Shoot to kill, ask questions later type of machinery. Amber instantly proves her value with her zero hesitations and DGAF attitude. It is at this point, the issue one ends with Amber becoming  part of the Two-Four.

Thoughts

two-thumbs-up-travis-birkenstock-clueless

First things first, the writing is incredible in this comic. I’ve said it heaps of times before but BKV’s talent for transporting the reader into the scene and into the action of the comic is amazing. Aided this being in the moment for the reader  is the beautiful artistry of Steve Skroce.

I am hooked! There are six issues in total for this story arc, so I am really keen to see how this story transpires and if at all, Amber and Tommy are reunite. The writing is captivating, the illustrations are gorgeous and the story line draws you immediately.

I have a few BKV titles on the go now and I highly recommend them all.

Do you have any comic recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below or via my Twitter –@remotetragic.

amber wsong

Comic cover image taken by myself
Other images sourced by Google

 

One thought on “#FridayFirsts: We Stand on Guard #1

  1. Pingback: [3 Day Quote Challenge] Day 3 – Hazel (Saga) | remote tragic

Leave a Reply

