#FridayFirsts: Welcome Back #1

IMG_8804Given I am new to the comics universe, I thought it’d be handy to sort through some of the first issues that I pick, what I enjoyed / didn’t enjoy and if I decided to proceed with the series. I’d love to hear what you think too, make sure you hit me up on Twitter – @remotetragic.

This week, I had a look at Welcome Back #1. I picked up this copy from the amazing crew at All Star Comics.

This was an incredibly interesting and intriguing read! The colours displayed on the cover is what enticed me to pick up the comic to start with, I did a flip through at the store and the colours used within the comic encouraged me to buy.

The colours used throughout the comic are distinct and beautiful. Shout out to Jonathan Brandon Sawyer on the gorgeous work in this comic, because it just did such an incredible job in illustrating the point between the two points of difference/characters within the first issue. Page 2-3 is my favourite, just beautiful double page artwork.

The comic begins in 1281 C.E, two sworn enemies fighting to the death – and this cycle being repeated over and over through time. We then meet, Mali, the step-daughter of a murderer and she’s hard a rough life. With not many prospects, she is perceived as overly nervous, even going as far as punching her boyfriend in her sleep and breaking his nose.  After one -to-many drinks at a party, Mali is faced with her past. Her true past. Her past from 1281 C.E and then the two sworn enemies (who are on different sides of the world) begin their dance of fighting to the death one again.

The story can get a bit confusing in parts because it does jump around a lot. Admittedly, it took me two read-throughs to understand what was going on and how people fit in where. Where I expected the comic to go – from the where it ended up is completely different, which made this comic an interesting read. It’s also a tough read, which meant missing just a small part can lead to much confusion down the line. It’s for this reason that I probably wouldn’t continue on with this comic, despite it being a short-ish read containing  4 issues.

Are there any first issues you’d like to see me review? Feel free to leave me a comment below or on Twitter – @remotetragic with your suggestions!

Leave a Reply

