#FridayFirsts: The Tithe #1

IMG_8805Given I am new to the comics universe, I thought it’d be handy to sort through some of the first issues that I pick, what I enjoyed / didn’t enjoy and if I decided to proceed with the series. I’d love to hear what you think too, make sure you hit me up on Twitter – @remotetragic.

This week, I had a look at The Tithe #1. I picked up this copy from the amazing crew at All Star Comics.

The cover is very captivating, I am not a big fan of religious themed reading material (no real reason, just isn’t my kind of read) and so I was surprised that I was drawn to this one.

The artwork is really interesting, especially in the scenes that feature the church. The detail offers insight as to how these kind of churches operate. There’s a part where the hacker group overtook the churches computers that this was done really great.

The comic introduces us to a church that is committing fraud with it’s parishioners money and a hacker ‘Robin Hood’ type organisation, Samaritan, is attempting to put a stop to it. In the process, they reveal to the church community all of the lies the pastor has told them to take their money. Samaritan infiltrate the building, take all of the donations and disperse it to charity organisations. The police are at a loss on how to deal with Samaritan, with one of the members dealing with the police directly and revealing more evidence against the churches that are committing frauds against the communities.

While there were interesting parts of the story, it wasn’t enough to grab my complete attention and hold me. The subject matter – which understandably, I was aware of before I read it – wasn’t particularly interesting to me either, but I can completely understand why readers would get super keen jelly bean for this. I don’t really see me continuing on with this series. Big call out to the writer of this comic though, for trying something a bit different and being gutsy with the subject matter – it’s definitely a tough one!

Are there any first issues you’d like to see me review? Feel free to leave me a comment below or on Twitter – @remotetragic with your suggestions!

Leave a Reply

