#FridayFirsts: Transference #1

IMG_8806Given I am new to the comics universe, I thought it’d be handy to sort through some of the first issues that I pick, what I enjoyed / didn’t enjoy and if I decided to proceed with the series. I’d love to hear what you think too, make sure you hit me up on Twitter – @remotetragic.

This week, I had a look at Transference #1. I picked up this copy from the amazing crew at All Star Comics.

The cover instantly attracted me, the intrigue of it and the commanding way the three characters are standing. This alone prompted me pick up the comic and flick through.

The story begins outside of Paris, eight months earlier. The main character, Colton and his crew are hot on the trail of a suspect, Fasad. It becomes pretty obvious a few pages in that, Colton and his crew are time traveling and that certain events have been changed in the past. But why? How? They are not sure – and the intrigue is on!

The artwork by Ron Salas adds to the intrigue and mystery of this comic, and is beautiful. The detail that has gone into setting up each frame to punctuate the story just works. It also adds a hint of what’s to come without directly expressing it to the reader.

Would I continue to read this comic? Short answer is YES. I liked the idea of changing certain events in the past and the impacts it has on the future. I can appreciate the impact this would have on the characters, and we got a hint of this already when Colton meets with his ‘wife’. I need to know what happens! Expect a follow up review to this comic!

Are there any first issues you’d like to see me review? Feel free to leave me a comment below or on Twitter – @remotetragic with your suggestions!

Leave a Reply

