Review: Oz Comic Con (Melbourne)

IMG_8786This weekend I ventured to Oz Comic Con with HolyBatGirl, despite being a seasoned Supanova / AMC / Armageddon veteran, this was my very *first* Comic Con!

The layout inside was pretty amazing, so many different retailers and the space was *huge*.

I was surprised there weren’t *many* comic book retailers there, but there was definitely enough to satisfy my eager hands (and my wallet!) for the comics to check out. I picked up copies of Batman: Hush and Suicide Squad: Kicked in the Teeth (The New 52/Vol 1). The other thing I was surprised about was the amount of kids there with their parents, which was great – but also how parents just had zero idea of what comics entails these days. I saw at least, two kids (maybe aged 7 -9) each with a copy of Batman: The Killing Joke. It’s definitely not a comic I’d recommend for that age group (definitely a mature comic!), so I was just surprised really that they were happily buying this kind of material for their kids. Maybe I am just a bit old-fashioned in my thinking there – which is entirely possible!

IMG_8793The cosplayers did an incredible job as always, with one of my favourites being this guy dressed up as Chewbacca. Not only did he look amazing, but when he opened his mouth, he made the Chewbacca sound as well! The venue was pretty warm, so massive respect for keeping the costume on for as long as he did!

I loved the different areas of which captured different people’s attention. There was an online gaming, skermish and a trivia area (just to name a few!). Such a great opportunity to meet new people and to bond people that have a shared interest.

IMG_8794Overall, I found the day to be really fun. I am glad that we got food before going inside (the lines were super crazy for the cafe!). But it was the perfect day to spend with friends and geek out over nerdy stuff!

The only part of the day I found a bit disappointing was at the start. The line up outside (to get in) was chaotic and very disorganised. Probably one of the most disorganised lines I have ever been in. At one point, one of the volunteers on the microphone encouraged people to ‘bunch up’ (and we were already pretty close with each other, so any closer it was actually an invasion of space) and she advised the ‘rules of Comic Con’ is that you can occupy any empty space in front of you, even if the people in front of you are not paying attention you can sneak in front. Part of me feels that it just wasn’t respectful to your neighbour to do something like that and ‘not in the spirit’ of any kind of Comic Con. The other part that made me feel… well nervous and anxious (being a part of a huge group of people like that was overwhelming!), was that if you needed to get out of the line for any reason, it was really hard to get out! I’d love for this to be refined for next year and a much more user friendly, considerate option is explored.

Two thumbs up Oz Comic Con crew. Can’t wait for next year!

Leave a Reply

