#FridayFirsts: Alex + Ada #1

IMG_8509Given I am new to the comics universe, I thought it’d be handy to sort through some of the first issues that I pick, what I enjoyed / didn’t enjoy and if I decided to proceed with the series. I’d love to hear what you think too, make sure you hit me up on Twitter – @remotetragic.

This week, I had a look at Alex + Ada #1.

The cover is mesmerizing. I wasn’t sure at first what was on Ada’s head – which became much clearer when you read the first issue. The look on Alex’s face though also had me curious, a mixture of sadness and depression, I was fairly certain it wasn’t because of Ada, because you couldn’t see her eyes. So as you can see, the cover immediately perked my interested and I had a lot of questions to start with.

The artwork in this comic is gorgeous. Going for the simple approach made it striking and easy to follow the story, not to mention the detail of the characters is just beautiful! Massive kudos to Jonathan Luna on the beautiful illustrations in this comic.

Set in a futuristic world, we meet Alex, a depressed guy who goes about his day almost in robot mode. We learn that it’s Alex’s birthday the next day and that he has been struggling (emotionally) since the break up with his girlfriend, Claire. Alex’s grandmother video calls him, for his birthday, and it becomes apparent she is in a relationship with a much younger… humanised robot. After being surprised by his friends for his birthday, Alex returns home to find his grandmother has bought him his own robot friend, with the first issue ending with Ada stepping out and uttering the words, “Hello”.

I. Am. Hooked!

I need to know what happens next! I guess you could say I am definitely interested in continuing this comic beyond issue 1, I have put the Vol 1 on my ‘need to have list’ and I really look forward to continuing the story of Alex + Ada. I really felt for Alex at points through the comic, because I know there have been times where I’ve felt like I have been in ‘robot mode’ by going to work, coming home and going to bed in a repetitive fashion. Being able to establish Alex in such a way in the first issue, made him a very likeable character and one I decidedly had a vested interest in to succeed. I am sure you will see more reviews of Alex + Ada in future blogs.

Are there any first issues you’d like to see me review? Feel free to leave me a comment below or on Twitter – @remotetragic with your suggestions!

Leave a Reply

