Review: Rat Queens (Vol 1: Sass & Sorcery)

IMG_8516I picked this comic up on Free Comic Book Day at All Star Comics after it being recommended to me from someone I was standing in the line with. This turned out to be a brilliant pick up and surprisingly great read.

Straight up, this is (in my opinion) the ultimate Girl Power comic. I don’t mean that in a cheesy or lame way, but rather each of the characters are bad ass and strong. While they are conflicted with their own personal issues, their strength and ability to handle tough situations  really shines through.I love that in the comic world, women are portrayed as strong and that equality is not negotiable. For Rat Queens (Vol 1: Sass & Sorcery) strength is a real key theme, one that I can really buy in and appreciate.

RatQueensPic2We are introduced to the Rat Queens, Hannah, Violet, Dee and Betty, in jail after a fight and destruction has taken place in Palisades. The characters are of different races (dwarven, human, elf etc) and I feel because I could draw comparisons to World of Warcraft (I love that game!) I was able to relate to the characters instantly.

The Rat Queens and other groups that were jailed for the disturbance are granted their freedom in exchange for performing quests at different locations around and outside the city.

I won’t go into too much detail as I don’t want to spoil the first volume, however as events transpire, The Rat Queens end up having to ‘flex their muscles’ and solve a mystery along the way.

RatQueensPic1Can I just highlight at this point, how well the humour punctuates this comic? I love the one-liners from the characters (both the main and secondary characters), at times this generated laugh out loud moments. The dialogue between the Rat Queens is like what you would hear between girlfriends that spend a lot of time together, which is really authentic and real.

Also want to bring attention the artwork itself. I love that the action is punctuated with the “Zad!” “Thunk!” “Clunk!” within each comic pane. It seems cliché really, that at first glance that this would be throughout the comic. But with the dialogue humour, it really adds to the comic bringing emphasis to the action that is taking place.

I enjoyed Volume 1 a lot, and cannot wait to grab Volume 2. Why does my want comic list keep getting bigger? I’m going to need to get a bigger bookshelf…

Do you have any comic recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below or via my Twitter – @remotetragic.

Images collected from the world wide web. 

One thought on “Review: Rat Queens (Vol 1: Sass & Sorcery)

Leave a Reply

